Detroit’s Movement Festival reveals second phase lineup

Movement Electronic Music Festival, set for May 25-27 at Hart Plaza in Detroit, today revealed the second phase of their 2013 artist lineup.

Known originally as the Detroit Electronic Music Festival (DEMF), Movement has been held over Memorial Day weekend since 2000. It’s known for exhibiting an extremely diverse lineup of performers across many electronic genres, setting itself apart from many of the dance music festivals today that are dominated by more mainstream EDM artists.

The festival’s physical location alone is unique, considering Detroit’s influence on the early electronic scene in America. Just this week the new POTATO network released a mini-documentary on the birth of techno in the Motor City. The piece features an interview with Kevin Saunderson, one of the “Belleville Three” who are most closely associated with the genre’s beginnings in the late 80s and early 90s. Saunderson will also perform at this year’s Movement lineup.

The phase two Movement 2013 lineup includes ADULT., Al Ester, Alton Miller, Ataxia, Audion, Azari & Ill, Ben Sims, Big Chocolate, Break Science, Brodinski, Bruce Bailey, Carlos Souffront, Daniel Bell, Dantiez Saunderson, DJ Godfater & DJ Zebo, DJ Minx, Diviniti, Eva Soul, Downlink, Ellen Allien, Erika, Gesaffelstein, Gramatik, Gregor Tresher, GRiZ, Hector, Laura Jones, Matt Tolfrey, Master at Work, Kenny Dop & Loui Vega, Mr. Joshooa, Miguel Campbell, Milkman, Moodymann, Nicolas Jaar, Paper Diamond, Soul Clap, Stacey Pullen, Steffi, T. Williams, Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs, and TOKiMONSTA.

These names are in addition to those already announced, which include A Tribe Called Red, Amtrac, Andy C, Art Department, Ben Klock b2b Marcel Dettmann, Big Gigantic, Brandon Moeller, Carl Craig, Dave Clarke, Dennis Ferrer, Derrick May & Kevin Saunderson, Drumcell, DVS1, George Fitzgerald, Hatcha, J.Phlip, John Digweed, Luke Slater, Maetrik, Mala, Mike Parker, Nicole Moudaber, Noisia, Onra, Paco Osuna, Richie Hawtin, Rrose, Ryan Elliott, Silent Servant, Slam, Steve Rachmad, Supervision, Tensnake, Terrence Parker, The Bug, The M Machine, Tommy Four Seven, and Truncate.

Movement competes with Electric Daisy Carnival (EDC) Chicago and Summer Camp Music Festival over Memorial Day weekend.

Tickets start at just $79 for a 3-day GA pass. Single day tickets are also available.

[button link=”” variation=”red”]Buy Tickets[/button]



You may also like...


Kent Otto

Kent is founder and editor-in-chief. He's always had a love and passion for music of all types, but didn't discover the music festival scene and community until moving to Southern California during his early post-college years. He returned to his roots in the Midwest in 2011 and has since been determined to share the magic and beauty of the music scene with as many as possible. Email